Humanity all falls down… and you turn off the news to eat your dinner?

March 8, 2010 at 9:13 pm (Uncategorized)

From Sunday, May 17, 2009 at 9:48pm
What are YOUR reasons?
I think that only a few of you were aware that there was an election on May 12. There was also the opportunity to vote for or against electoral reform (BC-STV? That little yellow thing on your doorknob or in your mailbox?). It seems as though every time I speak out in a political discussion, any passion I have is met by indifference, ignorance, and just plain stupidity sometimes.
I want to know. What is it that you want? Do you just want for nothing, feel as though you can’t do anything, not know where to begin learning what is going on with the world around you (and the people who are responsible for many things that affect our lives daily)?

I’d like to know – do you have any idea how priceless our freedom really is? What would it cost to you? Can you truly put a dollar figure on it, or determine it’s value?

There are so many reasons that yes, I vote in every election unless it is impossible for me to do so.
I do it because I CARE about my rights as a human being and a Canadian citizen. I do it because I have the right to determine how I live my life, and how my city/province/country is governed. These are my day-to-day, on-the-surface reasons why I vote, and why I give a shit.

However, there are so many more. I do it because yes; I am STILL a minority because I am a female. Because there were so many women who had opinions just like me, and were completely ostracized, humiliated, and even jailed because they were fed up with being oppressed. Are any of you so-called independant women out there even AWARE that we didn’t have the same equal rights as men…only about 80 or so years ago?
Do you have any idea that there are so many women across the world who still don’t?

My vote is my vote, yes. It is one voice, one “X” marked in a box, one single ballot. But – the way I see it – I get my ass down to the polls and make an educated decision also on behalf of every woman who must hide under heavy burqas and hejabs against her wish or will… every woman who can not pursue a career outside of becoming just a wife and mother and slave to her husband… every woman who dares not to dream of a higher purpose in life, because she feels there is no hope left.
I do it for all the women in impoverished nations who do not know how or where to vote, and who can not have an education because they are told it is not necessary to have an education in order to get a husband… I do it for every woman who may still have that glimmer of hope left that change will come, and change will set her free. For every woman who has been DENIED the right to education, religion, speech, and personal expression. For all the women who (may they rest in peace) have been wrongfully killed (sometimes stoned to death…don’t tell me you haven’t heard these news reports after you watch your hollow ET Hollywood reports) for crying out for change, for freedom, for something more… something they have never tasted, which you all THROW AWAY with ingratitude…. something called justice.
The only question I have left is: How could you NOT care? How could you not be anything less than grateful that you have the power to change things? That you have a voice, a mere chance at seeing the world turn in an exciting and different direction and shine a light on our future?
How could you?

All I have to say to all you self-proclaimed, hypocritical “Independant” women is this:

You should be ashamed of yourselves for throwing away something so incredibly important, so beautiful… Have we fought for nothing? Give yourself a history lesson and Google “Suffragist movement”. Or just look at all the injustices we have all begun to overcome racially, ethnically, etc… and take a good look at yourself in the mirror. And ask yourself: what is really important to me? What do I have to lose by giving my opinion and taking a stand for what I believe in (even if it’s just a municipal election)? How much do I care about the rest of humanity?

For all you people who say you are too “lazy” to vote – watch it. All of you overprivileged, spoiled, ignorant morons who don’t know what’s going on in the world are at fault for most of what is wrong in our global society. You will wake up one day and wish you had picked up a newspaper, opened your mind, and weren’t such an arrogant jerk for your entire life.

Wake up. Pull your head out of your ass, wipe the bullshit out of your eyes, and take a good look at the world around you. Now educate yourself about it – thankfully, you are free to do so.
It’s not as complex as you may think… what do you have to lose but your rights?

Leave a comment