What is your “favorite”?

May 5, 2010 at 2:54 pm (Uncategorized)

Everyone loves lists.  We are nosy, interested people.  Just look at Facebook!  A slow night at the bar last week led to a few friends putting together some lists of favorites in different categories of music… and it made me think about other lists I’ve made.

 There is always a story – a reason – behind something “favorite”. I have had the same favorite song since I was about 13 years old.  I walked into some random boutique at Metrotown Centre and fell deeply in love with what I heard. Being young and having never heard it before, I asked the clerk what this amazing song was…. and have been in love ever since. Nothing – new or old – has ever topped it. It has always had great memories and stories with wonderful people attached to it, and no matter how anxious, sad, whatever I am feeling, this song will always make me smile, make me laugh, and remind me of how much love there is in my life, and how amazing falling in love feels.  It always seems to be playing at the most perfect moments in my life so far.  On that note, let’s start with this list:

Favorite Songs:

1) always will be: “Is This Love” by Bob Marley. Without question.

2) “The Richest Man in Babylon” by Thievery Corporation

3) “Bag Lady” by Erykah Badu

4) “Video” by India Arie

5)”Everyday People” by Arrested Development

6)”This Room” by Fat Freddy’s Drop

7)”Summertime” the old one… any version… with or without vocals….

8 .  “Turn Your Lights Down Low” remix with Bob Marley and Lauryn Hill

9)”Save Your Scissors” by City and Color

10)”Kwah/Home” RH Factor ft. Anthony Hamilton

11)”Nothing Even Matters”by Lauryn Hill

12) “Blue in Green” by Miles Davis

13)”Stand by Me” by Ben King

14) “I’m In The Mood for Love” – I like Charlie Parker’s version,but I love one with vocals too.

15)”Juicy” by Biggie

16) “How Long” by Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings

I could honestly go on for ages, but there isn’t enough room.  And I had to narrow it down to my very favorites, the songs that I could listen to on repeat any time, any place.

Have you seen the movie “Amelie”?  It was a very popular French film (one of my favorite movies), and near the beginning, the wonderfully imperfect, charming charaters were introduced with their quirky likes and dislikes (i.e. Amelie liked to dip her hand in sacks of grain, etc).  I love finding out what strange things others love. Here are some of mine, and please! Tell me some of yours.

Claire aime:

Men carrying flowers.  It never fails. I love it! It is so unnatural and adorably awkward for a man to carry a bouquet of nicely wrapped flowers. I always watch them, and wonder who they are for, why they bought these flowers, whether they did something wrong and these are an apology, or they are just doing something sweet for someone they adore.  Either way, it is ALWAYS a sweet gesture and I love to imagine different scenarios of where he is going and who he will meet….and what the recipient’s reaction will be.  Maybe he will get a hug, a kiss, forgiveness, a WIFE…who knows?  Sometimes I see them talking to themselves, rehearsing what they will say to some lucky girl. Sometimes they look confused or even a little scared!  Sometimes you see them carefully rearranging the lilies around the roses, painstakingly trying to make their gift even more perfect…  I think I like this so much because I like to think that someone, somewhere is very dearly loved.  I always want to go up to the guy, kiss him on the forehead, and exclaim “It’s perfect! They’re beautiful! She’s going to love them!”  I wish I saw this more often.

Coffee at the beach at sunset. It’s a shame that not everyone in the world can enjoy this.  It doesn’t have to be coffee, it could also be rum or whiskey (good memories with those, too!) I have grown up in Vancouver, and lived in New York City, and watched many sunsets on the water, and nothing compares to this.  It’s great to share this with a friend or a lover.  Making out at sunset just as the cool breeze starts to chill your skin, feeling the warmth of the sun that had been soaking into your skin all day on your lips, neck, cheeks, and on theirs… Or just having a great talk with a friend.  Something about the color of the sun at dusk seems to make people more open, more relaxed, more still. This is also something that is important to do by yourself.  It’s nice to just enjoy your own company.  I think it makes us reflect, not only on the day, but on our lives.  Do you ever really get bored of watching the sun set?  It happens every night (as I wrote in my last blog), but each time I see it, I appreciate more of it’s beauty, in every detail.  It doesn’t matter how anxious or on-the-go you feel.  You have to slow down to watch it set. I think that’s the best part.

Getting kissed on my neck and back.  Enough said.

A new dress. What woman doesn’t love this? Usually because it means that you are going to be dressing up for a special occasion – a birthday, wedding, anniverary, a first or a special date, a party… I think our inner child screams “PARTY DRESS! PARTY! CAKE! BALLOONS!”. It’s such a simple thing to be happy about, but nevertheless, signifies that happy moments are about to be had, and happy memories about to be made.

These are just a few at the moment.  Please share with me some of your secret “favorites” if you happen to have the time.   Cheers!

2 Comments

  1. dani said,

    wow didn’t realize we had such similar taste in music 😉 guess that mix at johnnies was getting in the way

  2. clairela said,

    haha i know! irish depression music lol. I forgot a few on there though, like:

    Marvin Gaye – What’s Going On

    Arthur Conley – Sweet Soul Music

Leave a Reply

