Good to the last drop? Drip.

June 9, 2010 at 1:29 pm (Uncategorized)

At first glance, what do you think this is?

    It’s not fruit! It’s something that you probably have 1-4 times every day at an over-inflated cost….

Coffee Cherries  from Brazil!  I’m already awake looking at them.  Brazil is one of the biggest producers of coffee worldwide, and there are many plantations around the country.  Next year, my dream of visiting Brazil will become a reality.  And I can’t wait to taste Brazilian coffee locally.  It seems like something so small… but I would love to sip a cafezinho atop Pao de Agucar, and gaze down at beautiful Rio, maybe struggling to talk and joke in Portuguese with a new friend. 

I always wonder when I eat, drink, or buy something – where does it come from?  And how is it made?  Especially when it comes from so far away.  I have had probably hundreds of cups of coffee in my life so far.  I drink it completely black.  There is no sense in messing with a good thing!  Without all the sugary, milky additives, you can really taste it, and enjoy the flavour and aroma…. Coffee should be drunk like wine.  Stick your nose in it and inhale its richness, swirl it around in your cheeks, sip it gently, try different blends in fine china or big steamy porcelain mugs… Really taste it.  

In case you couldn’t tell in the descriptive paragraph above, coffee kind of turns me on.  You might think I’m sick and need some weird java-therapy, but it’s not a creepy fetish or anything.  It’s just that I find coffee to be a very sensual experience in every way.  Think about it next time you sit down to have a cup.                                                                        sexy coffee pour 430x499 sexy coffee pour            

Out of my caffeine-induced euphoria and back to the real question of : “where does it come from?”

As we are growing towards a more globalized society, and are much more socially aware than we used to be, we have added words to our vocabulary such as “organic” and “fair trade”.  I see both of these to be huge advances for humanity, with fair trade being at the top of my consumer list.  It gives me great satisfaction to see an article published in the New York Times under the heading:

 ‘Fair trade’ certification yielding benefits for Brazilian coffee farmers.

I like knowing that so many people have read this, and probably drank a latte on the patio at Starbucks and stopped on this article, and maybe considered changing their consumer habits…I though I’d share a few interesting tidbits I found in this article :

-Awareness of fair trade, like consumer awareness of “organic” a decade ago, is also growing. In 2006, 27 percent of Americans said they were aware of fair-trade certification, up from 12 percent in 2004, according to a study by the National Coffee Association, which is based in New York.

-One important difference is the focus of the labels – organic refers to how produce is grown, while fair trade is primarily concerned about conditions and treatment of the farmer.

-Most coffee farmers are organized into cooperatives and some of that premium is funneled back to the community to finance social projects like schools or potable water.

It feels good to know that you are – in a small way – contributing to a better life for someone else. I wonder how much a cup of coffee costs in Minas Gerais?  If I pay $2.17 for it in Vancouver?  Hmmmm.

Another interesting article for the next time you enjoy your dark roast: http://www.organicconsumers.org/starbucks/coffee-beans.cfm 

Until next time, drink it in.

 pictures from : didntyouhear.com/coffee-is-sexy , www.myconfinedspace.com/page/133/?tag=sexy  , soluble-coffee.com/brazilian_coffee.html 

Leave a Reply

