Tranquil timelessness

July 27, 2010 at 12:53 pm (Uncategorized)

It has been a very long time since I have updated my blog.  I missed writing it.  But I enjoyed my time away: D.C., NYC, Montreal, Toronto, and houseboating in the Shuswap… it’s been bliss.

My Visa bill, however, is not too pleased.

No matter.  A sense of normalcy has been restored with my return to Vancouver and my return to work.  I have a backlog of entries that I (gasp) wrote by HAND in a journal and will update them with real dates attached.

The title of this may seem a little random, but it’s basically how I have been feeling since I got on a plane to Washington International. I have not been keeping track of my days, and instead have been carefree, letting them pass me by as I enjoy the sun, the heat, and the pleasures of summertime.  The North American concept of “time” is so rigid, so stressful.  I have been so unbelievably content just to watch the sun move across the sky, shake hands with the moon, and patiently wait for dawn again.

I have learned a lot this summer so far.  Each city I visited was beautiful and different, and I was lucky to be able to enjoy the trip with someone I love.

My upcoming plans?

1) Work, work, and work some more. Make as much cash as possible and pay bills and put as much money as possible into my Brazil Savings Account (from this point on, I will refer to this as my BSA).

2) Find a new agent.  My former agent let me know – while I was strolling along the boardwalk in Baltimore – that she is having kids and leaving the business.  She sounded very excited, and I was so happy for her, I didn’t really mind the thought of having to go through the process of finding a new agent.  Besides, it was probably meant to be: Everything happens for a reason.

3) Write more.

4) Plan my trip to Brazil.  Learn more Portuguese, get together with a language buddy, be able to have conversations with ease.

5) Keep up my French! Montreal was so fantastic, and after just 5 days, my French had come back more than I expected.  Within the next two years, I want to be fluent in both French and Portuguese.

6) Enjoy the rest of summer.  Just love every minute of it, without the worry that it will be over soon, or the desperate want for these moments to last longer than possible.

1 Comment

  1. 36x37 said,

    What an engaging blog. I love that you’re committed to writing and traveling–that kind of visceral experience is what life’s about.

    Thanks for commenting on my blog last week. I’m glad you did, because it pointed me here, and I look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

