Pizza slices and miniskirts.

August 10, 2010 at 2:40 am (Uncategorized)

At a glance, these are the two most common things to see on Granville Street on a Saturday. 

Enjoying a day off work from my bar on Granville Street, I teased my hair, put on my little white dress and brown boots and sauntered down to the Yale with a beautiful date (my best girl!) to a birthday celebration for a very beloved friend. 

This seems pretty off-topic, but at the same time I was laughing and joking and dancing…I have been worried lately about the direction that my life is taking.  Because I have no fucking clue what I am doing.  And at 23, I should have some idea.  I will fully and freely admit that I have absolutely no idea what I want to do.  I am unsure about something that I think should be specific.  I despise this uncertainty. Why? 

Because it terrifies me. If I don’t know exactly what to do with my life in a career sense, what kind of person am I? Who will I become? And then my greatest fear of all time – the only real pressing fear I have – crawls into my head and decides to camp out: That I will do nothing important/successful/worthwhile/useful with my life and will have wasted something so precious and blessed.  Look at how unbelievably over-privileged I am!  Great people surround me, in one of the world’s most amazing cities – how dare I be uncertain? How dare I be unhappy?

What the fuck am I going to do?!

Anyways.  I still haven’t answered these questions.  But a dear friend of mine was very upset over something much more serious than my selfish little headgame.  After a drink and some dancing at the Yale, we decided to get some greasy pizza for the walk home.  On our way inside the fluorescent hole-in-the-wall (Numero Uno on Davie street was our final choice), a flash of pink caught my eye.  As I stood in line behind yet another guido-fabulous 19-year-old with an Axe problem, I watched a thin, old homeless man carefully arrange a bright pink bouquet. 

I was pretty impressed! I saw a pink rose, a big rosy gladiola stem, a few open pink lilies, and a flashy pink carnation… and saw the shaking, wrinkled hands putting it together.  I was outside in just a few minutes, and was genuinely happy to see the Davie street florist.  I think most people in Vancouver have met him or seen him.  His polite manners and kind eyes could charm an Italian poet.  I was greeted with “How are ya this evening, miss?”, accompanied with a big smile.

                                                                   

And he seems to take such pride in his business.  He doesn’t just end up making sales out of pity from passing strangers.  He’s got a good grip on this.  On this past Saturday, he had nicer flowers than the ones I’d seen in the shop up the block.

I had to cheer up my beautiful date.  After some pleasant small-talk (weather, business, the usual), a donation ($8 – all the cash I had – I wish I’d had more at the time), and a goodnight to the florist, I handed my friend the gorgeous, outrageously girly bouquet.  She broke a smile.  Success!  What made this transaction even better is that I looked back and saw an even bigger smile on his face.

I went home happier than I have been in the past few weeks.  I was pretty giddy with the whole evening.  I hope to see the florist next week, and I hope that my wishing him more business works.  He had even offered me a rose for myself, but I told him that I could share with my friend, and that I would be back soon. 

If you see the Davie & Granville florist outside Numero Uno, please make your day (and his) and buy a bouquet from this gentleman with the great selection and big heart.  It’s a very worthwhile stop on your way home.  Besides, no woman doesn’t love flowers. 

I think one of the best qualities I have is that I would do anything – I mean, ANYTHING – to make someone laugh or smile.  Including pulling my pants down.  Or acting like a zoo animal.  Or yelling near guys who wear Ed Hardy “Wow! He looks like he has a lot of money! Crystals!”.  Anything. 

So I don’t know in which direction my life/career is heading.  I don’t know where to begin, and am not sure what my dream job would be.  And it freaks me out.  Really, it scares the shit out of me.  But whatever I do, I hope I make a lot of people very happy.  I hope it’s something big, something great. 

I may not know where my head is, but I know where my heart is.

1 Comment

  1. Ramona said,

    Girly, you may not have it sorted when it comes to what you should do career-wise etc., but you absolutely have your head on straight when it comes to what truly matters in life. You never cease to amaze or give people a little more joy. I adore you!

Leave a Reply

