Montreal, je t’aime. (July 19th, 2010)

August 12, 2010 at 10:08 am (Uncategorized)

Infatuation: a foolish or all-absorbing passion or instance of this.

I have been struck by infatuation many times in my young life so far.  When it hits you, it is very important to remember that it is NOT true love, although many of the physical sensations are quite similar.  This intoxicating sensation can tickle you over objects, people, and places.

My newest?

Montreal.

Oui, c’est vrai! In the sticky heat of early July, I spent 5 days in this beautiful city with the love of my life.  The first night, I was amazed by the great food and the relaxed pace of life.  The second day, I got a smile for every single one that I gave (probably because I was grinning like an idiot the whole time I was in the city) from all the lovely people. The second night, I had some of the most amazing sex of my life.

Yeah, I’m getting personal.  So what? C’est la vie!

Over another long, indulgent meal, we discussed the possibility of moving to Montreal.  Really and truly.  Maybe it was the wonderful heat (yes it was sizzling, but I’m basically an amphibian and could lie in the scorching hot sun all day.  Some hate this. I LOVED it!), the jazz festival (known to be one of the best in the world), the excitement of a romantic language being spoken all around (it’s amazing how much you can learn – or remember, in my case – after just 5 days of immersion), the incredible energy of Tam Tam on Sunday at Mont Royal (I’ve never seen so many drums in my life!  It was as though hundreds of strangers were trying to match my own heartbeat), learning to ride a bicycle (thanks to the patience of Mr. Nice Guy), or just sharing all of the above experiences with someone.

“Can we do this? Seriously?” The whole city seemed to always be celebrating something.  Compare this to the less artistic, more subdued Vancouver, and at times my home can seem…well…dull.  Unfriendly.  Quiet.  Gray. 

On the other hand: being on vacation gave us a chance to linger for 2 hours over every meal.  Explore the arts and music festivals.  Wander aimlessly, taking in all the sights, sounds, and smells of this new city, paying no attention to time other than to appreciate the position of the sun in the sky.  Living in Montreal would obviously mean we would have to work there, too.  My French isn’t too bad.  In fact, it’s pretty good, if I do say so, myself.  But it’s not fluent, and it would have to be in order to become successful in any career in Montreal.  This would be a big obstacle, considering that it can be a tough spot to find a job in the first place.  And while I loved the heat… I am the world’s biggest baby when it comes to winter.  I hate the cold.  Sure, snow is beautiful and magical.  It’s great on Christmas day and on postcards.  Deep down, I still hate it.  I hate any temperature below 25 degrees Celsius.  It sounds crazy, I’m a CANADIAN for fuck’s sake, but I grew up in the temperate rainforest of Vancouver.  I’ve spent nearly every summer at the beach  (Oh, how I missed the sand and the ocean while I was in NYC.  Warm sand is the best orgasm my toes have ever had) and every winter has been damp and cold, yes, but bearable

I think all the charm of my vacation clouded my judgement for a while.  Being back in Vancouver, I do miss the romance and energy of Montreal.  But my city by the sea has lured me back again as I watch the sun set over the ocean from my 15th floor balcony.  The smell of wet earth fills my lungs with every breath I take – no matter what season.  And once again, I am hugged by the surrounding mountains and gaze at the tiny patches of snow, still resting among hundreds of perfectly Christmas-y trees.

Maybe Montreal was spectacular.  But at the end of the day, Vancouver is full of people who will be with me for the rest of my life.  I love my friends and family (not just blood, in my case) here, and leaving them is pretty tough – I’ve done it once before.  And I love them more than I love Montreal.  I would live there if I had a career waiting for me there,  or if I had another good reason to go there other than just my mere infatuation with it.

So, my new friend, I had a very nice time.  I will come back soon, and hopefully introduce you to some of my friends.  You’d really like them.  But I’m afraid that you and I just can’t make it work right now.  Until next time, je t’aime, et tu me manque, Montreal. 

I’m allergic to poutine, anyway.

1 Comment

  1. temmahkrik said,

    I’ve never been to Montreal, but my family line runs through Quebec, so I’d love to go someday. What a lovely blog post. (Last line aside. Allergies aren’t lovely.)

Leave a Reply

