Getting old and getting daisies.

May 9, 2011 at 11:27 pm (Uncategorized)

It’s my birthday tomorrow! And – I’m okay with getting old.

It’s so nice to really enjoy all the little things that you couldn’t understand when you were younger!  Like flowers.  When you are really young, sure, flowers are pretty.  But they were really just lumped into the category of “things my mom liked”. Nowadays…. oh, man.  Getting flowers is probably my absolute FAVORITE gift to receive.  No kidding.  Any kind, too… in fact, it’s interesting to see what kind of flowers people choose for you! There is nothing that can compare with the feeling of seeing someone who loves you hand you a bouquet of flowers, or a plant.  When my girlfriends give me flowers, they smile and gleefully hand it over as I squeal a little, blurting out the typical ladylike response of “For me? Aaaw! How sweet! Oh, they are SO beautiful!”

When a boy gives me flowers?  I caught my boyfriend at the supermarket (on my way home from work) with the biggest bouquet of bright flowers, awkwardly holding them the way guys do.  I think I have mentioned this before, but I will say it again: seeing men holding/carrying flowers is my favorite thing in the world.  So, to see MY lover holding them for ME… let’s just say I embarrassed him enough, kissing and hugging and “awww”-ing for about 10 minutes, and actually jumping up and down like a little kid because I was SO happy that I was the lucky girl.  He just smiled, kissed me, and told me I ruined the surprise.

Hand Tied Bouquet - Step 2  It sounds ridiculous, but I love how he looks when he hands them to me.

I appreciate many more little things (at the ripe old age of soon-to-be 24, which I think I will be by the time I finish this blog) with each year that passes.  Flowers mean more to me with each year that passes because of all the memories I have attached to them… and I can only imagine it will get better.  Roses for graduation when I finish a degree, lilies on Mother’s Day from my kids someday, flowers at my wedding, maybe…  I can think of a few more things that get better with age.

1) Flowers. Of course.

2) Sleep. Sleep is more valuable to me with each passing year, and going to sleep early these days is SUCH a special treat… getting enough good quality sleep is so important.  But who cared when we were kids? Forget it!

3) Food! Sure, I loved peanut butter and watermelon (and only these things, for a while), and I still do love them, but I am learning about so many other great delicacies… like onions.  I only started eating and enjoying them this year!  What was I thinking back then, picking them off pizza, and ordering meals in restaurants with no onions?  Food that stinks is better when you’re older.  Garlic, onions, mushrooms, jalapeno peppers, eggs, and brie cheese are some of the new and exciting foods I have been eating in just the last 3 short years.  I have SO much to catch up on.

4) Coffee. Yes, it could be in the food category, but it’s different.  Coffee was great when I was 16, and wanted to get a wicked energy buzz before a math test.  But it’s so much better now that I actually appreciate the bittersweet taste.  I drink it black most of the time, I no longer cringe when I drink an espresso… I sip coffee to make it last.  I enjoy it in the morning, afternoon, or after dinner, over a long conversation with an old friend, and LOVE how it warms my hands when it is cold and rainy outside.

5) Kids. I have more and more patience with every birthday that comes my way.  I’ve realized that I actually really like playing with kids – I can be carefree for a couple of hours and play tag, make art, watch a cartoon or 3D movie.  Believe it or not, you can learn a lot from those little runts.  I like answering their questions.  I like their trust, and their inability to lie to you (when they are younger, not the older kids, I guess).  They are so honest about everything!  Babies, however, terrify me.  They are really just gooey amoebas that are always on the brink of extreme volume and liquid expulsion.  They can’t communicate properly… they are not like the rest of us… they still kind of remind me of little aliens…. anyways.  I think it’ll just take me a couple more years to get used to them.

6) Family.  As I get older, I am more accepting, and eager to keep in close contact with family – not just immediate family.  It hurts to know that I am not close with my extended family.  I know how cool my cousins are (especially the ones I saw this summer while travelling.  No joke, my family is pretty hilarious.  Seeing my family on the East Coast was a great part of my trip)… we just haven’t spoken in so long (some longer than others), that it is hard to know where to start.  But I really want to start.  I think this year will be different.

7) Talking to strangers.  You probably wouldn’t believe it, but I was really shy when I was young.  Until I went to school.  And now, it’s impossible to shut me up.  I used to want everyone to leave me alone.  These days, I can’t leave my apartment without meeting someone new.  I love meeting new people, talking to people in my neighbourhood, and I especially love running into people I already know.  I think it’s because I sometimes feel lonely living here.  I still think lots of people in Vancouver are quite reserved and keep to themselves… and as much as possible, I defy that and blah-blah-blah all day long.  In fact, it made me realize how much I like language and want to study linguistics. Go figure.  When you’re an old bat, one thing always seems to lead to another.

Can anyone reading this think of any more to add to the list?  I am officially 24 now! And I am looking forward to going to sleep. 

I can’t wait to see the rest of this year.

Picture from www.janescottflowers.com

Leave a Reply

