URGENT! NOW!

October 16, 2011 at 12:39 am (Uncategorized)

It’s been awhile since I have written anything. It’s been too long since I have had something powerful enough to write about that I am FORCING myself to make the time for it.

I wanted to spread the love and encourage scores of people to join me in the occupation of Vancouver today. Most of my text messages didn’t get responses. A lot of people still hadn’t heard about the whole movement of http://www.occupytogether.org … And to be honest, that scares me. A HUGE, global movement is happening, and a lot of people thought that I was talking about a cafe, a restaurant, a movie… you name it.

Look. Maybe you weren’t there today. Maybe you won’t come tomorrow. Maybe you haven’t learned enough about this movement, this revolution, to know if you support it yet.
But I hear SO MANY of you talking about how change is needed, change is necessary, and frequently quoting some of Ghandi’s finest words “Be the change you wish to see in the world.” You post inspiring things on Facebook. I hear talk of “one day”, “consciousness”, etc. But: WHAT ARE YOU DOING?

This is your chance, and this is the change. It was a beautiful day for a revolution. It was a beautiful day to join the 99% – which most of you belong to! – in saying “this is something bigger than myself”.

I don’t care how this affects me. I don’t care how this affects you. I care how it affects US – all of us. Individualism, narcissism, ignorance, greed, corruption, and lack of understanding got us into this mess in the first place.

Here’s your chance to get out of this trap. I know that there are so many reasons you won’t set foot on Art Gallery soil for Occupy Vancouver. You balance work AND go to university, like I do right now. You don’t know much about politics and maybe are a little bit embarrassed about it. You feel as though it may just be a silly hippie festival, and that you have better things to do. Maybe you think that nothing will come of it, and will later be embarrassed to have been a part of it.
I don’t think so. In fact, maybe you are afraid to lend your voice… because you fear that – as Mandela said – you are “powerful beyond measure”.
Even though I didn’t see many of you today… you have a golden opportunity. You can stand up for what’s right – freedom, justice, honesty, and REAL equal opportunity – or you can make excuses for why you can’t be a part of it.

All I know is, I have heard SO much conversation about the urgency of change in our world, our society, our system, our city. And now, you CAN do something. We can use OUR voice (not just YOUR voice) and say to the whole world that we can unite and overcome these injustices. You don’t have to be all talk anymore. You can contribute to something BIGGER than yourself!

Are you scared? Good. You should be. This is what rocking the boat feels like. And I am proud that in the next few decades, I will be able to say, “yes, I was there. I was at the first general assembly of Occupy Vancouver. I made it every day to show my support in whatever way I could. I was a part of the change, and I am a small part of the reason that our lives are better now than they were before.”

Stop talking. Start doing. Here’s your chance. Wake up.

Leave a Reply

